Real Estate – Talking Backwards

Real Estate makes melancholy music shrouded in sunshine guitar lines. I listened to their 2011 album ‘Days’ all summer and then more after that. My brother got me into them. We saw them play a benefit concert at a middle school in Ridgewood, where they grew up. The shitty speakers blew out the vocals but you could still tell they had great songs. We saw them again with my sister in October at Bowery Ballroom. I won my tickets in a contest. This time the songs reached us unadulterated. They played several new songs, including this one. I remember dancing a few feet away from my brother and catching his eye as they played, grinning and mouthing ‘so good,’ drawing a nod of agreement. Their next album ‘Atlas’ comes out in March. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

