Nick Drake – Pink Moon

I bought this CD last week. I had downloaded it in college and I listened to it frequently on Spotify before ordering it. I put the title track on a mix CD in the fall of my sophomore year when I broke up with my first girlfriend, and it always reminds me of driving through orange leaves, no matter when I listen to it. Nick Drake had a sad life. He had overdosed on medication and died before he turned 30. No one had really heard his music. Now this song is in commercials. His lyrics: “Pink moon gonna get you all,” are so ominous, but he sings so calmly and the lovely little piano phrase that drops in halfway through is so insistent and reassuring that you end up feeling OK anyway.

Leave a Reply

